This is an archived version of CRA's website. This archive is available to provide historical content.

Please visit for the latest information.

∫ CRA Events ∫ Computing Leadership Summit

CRA organizes an annual summit of the presidents, executive directors, and other senior leadership of CRA, its six affiliate societies -- AAAI, ACM, CACS/AIC, IEEE-CS, SIAM, and USENIX -- and the NRC's Computer Science and Telecommunications Board to discuss issues of common concern. The meetings are held in the Washington, DC, area. Past summit information is listed here.

2012 Computing Leadership Summit

Monday, February 27, 2012, Westin Georgetown Hotel, 2350 M Street, NW Washington, DC 20037

Agenda and Talks


Continental Breakfast
(Logan Room. Conference Level)


Scott Room
Eric Grimson (CRA Board Chair)
Welcome, Introductions


Computing in the Core/CS Ed Week
Cameron Wilson (ACM)
Della Cronin (Washington Partners)


Computing Research Funding Update
Peter Harsha (CRA) 

10:30AM Break

Publications Panel
Matt Blaze (USENIX)
Ronald Boisvert (ACM)
James M. Crowley (SIAM)
Sorel Reisman (IEEE Computer Society)

12.15AM Lunch (Logan Room)

Policymaking in the Trenches
Edward W. Felten
Chief Technologist
U.S. Federal Trade Commission    

2:15PM Association Roundtable
3:00PM Adjourn
3:30 - 5:00PM

Promenade (Lobby Level)
Reception for Summit Attendees, CRA Board,
Career Mentoring Workshop Attendees and Guests

Summit Archive

2011 Computing Leadership Summit

Monday, February 28, 2011, Westin Arlington Gateway, 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203

Agenda and Talks

8:30AM Continental Breakfast (F. Scott Fitzgerald A)
9:00AM Welcome, Introductions (F. Scott Fitzgerald B)
Eric Grimson, CRA Board Chair
9:05AM CSTB Update
Jon Eisenberg
Director, Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
9:30AM NSF CISE Broader Impact Criterion
CISE CE21 Activity
Jan Cuny
NSF - Computer & Information Science & Engineering
10:00AM Computing in the Core
Bobby Schnabel
Chair, ACM Education Policy Committee

10:30AM Break
10:45AM CCC Activities
Ed Lazowska
CCC Council Chair, Co-Chair PCAST Working Group on NITRD
11.30AM Information Technology Research at DARPA
Dan Kaufman
Director, Information Innovation Office
12:00 Noon Lunch (F. Scott Fitzgerald A)
1:00PM A Dialogue on Computing Research and Education
Farnam Jahanian
Incoming NSF CISE AD
2:00PM Association Roundtable
3:00PM Adjourn

2010 Computing Leadership Summit

Monday, February 22, 2010, The Westin Grand, 2350 M Street, NW, Washington, DC 20037

Agenda and Talks

8:30AM Continental Breakfast (Logan Room)
9:00AM Laura Haas, CRA Board Vice Chair (Scott Room)
Welcome, Introductions
9:05AM Peter Lee
Director, Transformational Convergence Technology Office, DARPA
10:00AM STEM Education
Steve Robinson, Special Assistant
Dept. Of Education, assigned to the White House Domestic Policy Council
11:00AM Break
11:15AM John Palafoutas
Executive Director of the Task Force on American Innovation and President of the National Inventors Hall of Fame

12:00 Noon Lunch (Logan Room)
1:00PM Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE)
Jeannette Wing
Assistant Director of NSF for CISE
2.00PM Jan Cuny
National Science Foundation/National Lab Day
2.10PM Association Roundtable
3:00PM Adjourn
3:30PM-5:00PM Reception (The Promenade)
(Summit attendees, CRA Board, and attendees of Career Mentoring Workshop)

2009 Computing Leadership Summit

Washington, DC 20037 | Monday, February 23, 2009

Agenda and Talks

8:30AM Continental Breakfast (Dupont Room)
9:00AM Dan Reed, CRA Board Chair (Scott Room)
Welcome, Introductions
9:10AM Tom Kalil, Presidential Transition Team
Science Priorities in the New Administration
10:00AM Randy Katz, UC Berkeley
CSTB Study—“Assessing the Impacts of Changes in the Information Technology R&D Ecosystem: Retaining Leadership in an Increasingly Global Environment”
10:30AM Break (Dupont Foyer)
10:45AM Research Policy Discussion

Jeannette Wing, NSF
Looking Ahead in NSF CISE

Peter Harsha, CRA
Where we stand: Computing Research Funding Post-Stimulus

12:00 Noon Lunch (Dupont Room)
1:00PM Association Roundtable
Updates from Leadership Summit Participants on Key Activities
1.30PM Overview of CS Education Efforts

Andy Bernat, CRA

Robert Schnabel, ACM
ACM Ed Policy Board

Jan Cuny, NSF
AP CS Courses
2:30PM Ed Lazowska, CCC
Update on the CCC
3:00PM Adjourn

Past Computing Leadership Summits (Pre-2009)  (available at our archive site)

CCC Logo

CERP Logo CRA-E Logo CRA-W Logo

1828 L STREET, NW SUITE 800, WASHINGTON, DC 20036 | P: 202-234-2111 | F: 202-667-1066