This is an archived version of CRA's website. This archive is available to provide historical content.

Please visit for the latest information.

archiveOutstanding Undergraduate Researchers

2002 Sponsor: Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs
Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs and Microsoft Research are sponsors in alternate years.

2002 Selection Committee
Gregory Andrews, University of Arizona (Chair); Lori Clarke, University of Massachusetts, Amherst; and Michael Scott, University of Rochester.

2002Allegra Angus

Female Awardee

2002 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award Awardee Senior at Cornell University

Allegra Angus is a senior at Cornell University. She will receive Bachelor’s degrees in Computer Science and Mathematics in January 2002.

Allegra’s research is in program logic and semantics. She has helped develop techniques that enable one to prove equivalence of program schemes by converting the schemes to algebraic expressions and then proving their equivalence by manipulating equations. She has co-authored a paper describing the technique, and is now building an automated equational verification tool that will be useful for a variety of verification tasks.

Allegra has had summer internships at Intel (twice) and Xerox (twice). She helped develop a non-programming introductory course in Computer Science at Cornell, and she performs with the Cornell symphony, chamber orchestra, and women’s chorus.

Allegra holds an Intel Women in Science and Engineering Scholarship.

2002Adam Stubblefield

Male Awardee

2002 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award Awardee Third Year at Rice University

Adam Stubblefield is in his third year of studies at Rice University. He will receive a Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics in May 2002.

Adam has done significant research in computer security and applied cryptography. For example, this past summer he developed the first attack on a wireless computing standard, the Wireless Equivalent Privacy (WEP) protocol; his results were reported on by CNN and The New York Times, among others. Adam has co-authored six papers; one received the best paper award at the Network and Distributed Systems Symposium in February 2001. He will be on the program committee of the next USENIX Security Symposium.

Adam has been a teaching assistant for three courses at Rice. He has also been an intern at Wang, Xerox PARC, and AT&T Labs. He holds a USENIX Scholars Fellowship and is a Rice Undergraduate Scholar.

2002Sara Su

Female Runner-Up

2002 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Runner-Up Senior at University of Washington

Sara Su is a senior at the University of Washington. She will receive a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Engineering in June 2002.

Sara has contributed to three quite different fields. During a summer internship at Cray, Inc., she developed software modules for the Tera multithreaded architecture. She has developed tools to automate the production of course materials as part of a Tutored Video Instruction project to support distance education. Most recently she has developed techniques for artistic rendering and handwriting synthesis during an internship at Microsoft Research, China; she has co-authored two papers describing these results.

Sara is an officer of the ACM student chapter at Washington, active in departmental outreach efforts, and a former officer of the Washington chapter of Eta Kappa Nu, the EECS honor society. She has received numerous scholarships and academic honors

2002Alexander Fabrikant

Male Runner-Up

2002 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Runner-Up Senior at University of California, Berkeley

Alexander Fabrikant is a senior at the University of California, Berkeley. He will receive a B.S degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and a B.A. degree in Mathematics and Linguistics, in May 2002.

Alex is interested in theoretical aspects of computer science, especially algorithms. He has worked on three different projects: quantum computing heuristics for graph coloring, statistical analyses and string indexing methods for comparative genomic analysis, and, most recently, asymptotic bounds for problems relating to models of the graph structure of the Internet. He has co-authored papers on each topic and has developed software implementations of his results.

Alex has been a summer intern at Xerox PARC and a math tutor, course reader, and teaching assistant at Berkeley. He has been an officer for two years in the Berkeley chapter of Eta Kappa Nu, the national EECS honor society, and has also been active in community service.

Finalists (Female)

Finalists (Male)


Honorable Mentions (Female)


Emily Chung, UC Berkeley
Arel Cordero, University of Oregon
Shirley Gaw, University of Washington
Jennifer McDonald, Northeastern University
Leah Miller, Carnegie Mellon University
Elizabeth Partridge, University of Virginia
Ana Ramirez, Carnegie Mellon University
Sindy Tang, California Institute of Technology
Sarah Tierney, University of Texas, Austin
Jenine Turner, University of Rochester
Rachel Weinstein, Brown University
Cory Williams, Carnegie Mellon University

Honorable Mentions (Male)


Frank Apap, Columbia University
Nathaniel Ayewah, Southern Methodist University
Bachir Babale, University of Oklahoma
Nate Chambers, University of Rochester
Andrew Chatham, Duke University
Jon Eddy, Harvard University
Brian Gaeke, UC Berkeley
Philip Godfrey, Carnegie Mellon University
Mark Hancock, Simon Fraser University
Andrew Honig, Columbia University
Bradford Hovinen, University of Delaware
Chand John, University of Texas, Austin
Andrew Ko, Oregon State University
Mark Kwan, University of British Columbia
Delwin Lee, University of Texas, Austin
Harry Li, Brown University
Haining Liang, University of Western Ontario
Steven Marx, University of Rochester
Chad Myers, Southern Methodist University
Ashish Myles, University of Florida
Stavan Parikh, University of Virginia
Mitchell Peabody, Drexel University
Nicholas Ramey, Johns Hopkins University
Jeremy Schea, Taylor University
Benjamin Schwarz, University of Arizona
Veselin Stoyanov, University of Delaware
Niraj Tolia, Carnegie Mellon University
Christopher Wilson, University of New Mexico

CCC Logo

CERP Logo CRA-E Logo CRA-W Logo

1828 L STREET, NW SUITE 800, WASHINGTON, DC 20036 | P: 202-234-2111 | F: 202-667-1066