This is an archived version of CRA's website. This archive is available to provide historical content.

Please visit for the latest information.

archivesA. Nico Habermann Award

CRA makes this award, usually annually, to a person who has made outstanding contributions aimed at increasing the numbers and/or successes of underrepresented groups in the computing research community. This award recognizes work in areas of government affairs, educational programs, professional societies, public awareness, and leadership that has a major impact on advancing these groups in the computing research community. Recognized contributions can be focused directly at the research level or at its immediate precursors, namely students at the undergraduate or graduate levels.

2014Nancy Amato

2014 Habermann Award Awardee Unocal Professor and Interim Department Head of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University

Nancy Amato has been a tireless and highly effective leader of programs that engage women and underrepresented minorities in computing research, particularly the CRA-W Distributed Research Experiences for Undergraduates program. Nancy has an impressive breadth of work not only at her home institution (Texas A&M), but also nationally with organizations including CRA-W, CDC, NCWIT and the Grace Hopper conference. Her nominators provided data showing her positive impact on the participation and success of women as well as members of underrepresented groups in computing research. She has also been an effective supporter of the Tapia conference.

CCC Logo

CERP Logo CRA-E Logo CRA-W Logo

1828 L STREET, NW SUITE 800, WASHINGTON, DC 20036 | P: 202-234-2111 | F: 202-667-1066