For Immediate Release

Contact: Ann Drobnis 202- 266-2936 adrobnis@cra.org www.cra.org/ccc

Computing Community Consortium Announces New Council Members and Executive Committee

WASHINGTON, DC, June 23, 2014 - The Computing Research Association (CRA), in consultation with the National Science Foundation (NSF), has appointed six new members to the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Council:

- Lorenzo Alvisi, University of Texas at Austin
- Vasant Honavar, Pennsylvania State University
- <u>Deborah Richardson</u>, University of California—Irvine
- Jennifer Rexford, Princeton University
- Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign
- Ben Zorn, Microsoft Research

Beginning July 1, the new members will each serve three-year terms, and a new executive committee will be formed. Gregory Hager, Johns Hopkins University, will become Chair; Elizabeth Mynatt, Georgia Tech, will become Vice Chair; and Susan Graham, University of California, Berkeley, will become Chair Emeritus. The new executive committee includes the Chair (Hager), Vice Chair (Mynatt), Chair Emeritus (Graham), Liz Bradley, University of Colorado at Boulder, Bob Sproull, formerly Oracle, and Mark Hill, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The CCC Council is comprised of 20 members who have expertise in diverse areas of computing. They are instrumental in leading CCC's visioning programs, which help create and enable visions for future computing research. Members serve staggered three-year terms that rotate every July.

The CCC, CRA and NSF thank those Council members whose terms end on June 30 for their exceptional dedication and service to the CCC and to the broader computing research community:

- Edward Lazowska, University of Washington; founding Chair of CCC
- Anita Jones, University of Virginia, founding member of CCC
- Deborah Crawford, Drexel University
- Fred Schneider, Cornell University
- Josep Torrellas, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign
- Randy Bryant is taking a leave of absence while serving at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)

The CCC encourages participation from all members of the computing research community. Each fall, the CCC issues a Call for Proposals for Visioning Activities. Each spring, the CCC issues a call for nominations for Council members effective the following July.

For more information, please visit http://cra.org/ccc or contact Dr. Ann W. Drobnis, CCC Director, at adrobnis@cra.org.

About CRA: The Computing Research Association (CRA) is an association of more than 200 North American academic departments of computer science, computer engineering, and related fields; laboratories and centers in industry, government, and academia engaging in basic computing research; and affiliated professional societies. CRA's mission is to enhance innovation by joining with industry, government and academia to strengthen research and advanced education in computing.

About the CCC: The mission of Computing Research Association's Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community and enable the pursuit of innovative, high-impact research. CCC conducts activities that strengthen the research community, articulate compelling research visions, and align those visions with pressing national and global challenges. CCC communicates the importance of those visions to policymakers, government and industry stakeholders, the public, and the research community itself.

###